Emily and the Art of Dishwashing

Y-emily“Before I do the dishes, take a moment to observe them. Notice how dirty they are. Have a look at how stained, soiled, sullied, and unclean they are. I take a moment to reflect on how good our guests experienced their meal and drinks. Than I clean and rinse them. I take my time but work fast and without unnecessarily movements. I just make sure to remove every little spot of gravy, every little dollop of ketchup, every grain of cooked sticking rice. I notice how the sponge removes the dirt thoroughly. It doesn’t come back. And than I towel them dry. However, I keep them in plain view before clearing them away. Again, I take time. I make sure they’re  properly dried and than I take a brief moment to admire my handiwork. At this stage, I feel a sense of satisfaction. There is no ambiguity in cleaning the dishes – they’re either clean, or they aren’t. I took dirty dishes, and cleaned them, and can feel a little pride at this achievement. It may have taken a little longer, but I do a job I’m proud of.”

The clean dishes and cutlery carry the signature of Emily.

 

 

One comment on “Emily and the Art of Dishwashing

  1. Reblogged this on Life in a village named Stanford and commented:
    Gotta like Emily. Quite a performance!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

